Globalization and Free labor

by Yun Xiao

Today, Minyoung and I will do the presentation focusing on the reading  Arjun Appadurai, “Disjuncture and Difference in the Global Cultural Economy” and Tiziana Terranova, “Free Labor: Producing Culture for the Digital Economy”. The reason why we chose them because the first one is a star marked reading and the second one seems more interesting.

At first, we planned to do the presentation like other people did: bringing out the definition, explaining the articles and drawing the connection between different readings, but we couldn’t find really clear connection of the two readings and we don’t know if that is”necessary” to explain the articles to you guys, because after finishing all you guys’ post yesterday I found that I knew nothing about this week’s readings (I am not kidding).

So, we’d like to focus more on sharing our experience as foreigners or I should say “globalized” foreigners and people doing “free labor” all the time with you. However, we still have several questions related to the readings. And because at tomorrow’s  class Jessica is going to talk about the final project, we are afraid we will not have enough time to bring them out. We’d like to post some of our questions here and hope someone could share their answers with us.

First, what is homogeneation and heterogeneation in the globalization context.
Second, what is the internal connection between the five landscapes and the disjuncture.

Third, is immaterial worker, collective intelligence and free labor the same thing?

2 Comments to “Globalization and Free labor”

  1. I think this is a great idea. I, personally, found this weeks’ material the most concrete readings we’ve had so far in the sense of being related to our everyday experiences, especially as immigrants. Good Luck!

  2. This is a very amusing image!
    Yun and Minyoung, I think your strategy for today’s class sounds terrific, and I’m sure if you pose the above questions to the group you will find much help in answering them, and from me as well in the discussion.
    I will be spending the last 15 minutes of class sharing examples of final projects, that is all, so you should not worry that it will interfere with your presentation which should be about one hour long. Then we can continue to address further questions with discussion before I talk about the final project.

Reply